National Poem In Your Pocket Day – Poems by and about Jane

Tomorrow, April 30th, is National Poem In Your Pocket Day.  To celebrate, you print out a poem and carry it around with you and share it throughout the day.  In preparation for that day, I have some poems written by Jane and about Jane.A letter to Frank written fully in verse.Jane wrote a letter to … Continue reading National Poem In Your Pocket Day – Poems by and about Jane

Obituaries in the Time of Jane Austen – Program Review

Posted by JASNA New Jersey on Sunday, March 29, 2015We had a wonderful program this weekend presented by Tim Bullamore. Tim talked about the history of obituaries, the changes over the years, and more specifically the death notices of the Regency era. There are 11 known obituaries for Jane. They all read about the same … Continue reading Obituaries in the Time of Jane Austen – Program Review

Jane Austen LIterary Sighting! – Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon

https://www.goodreads.com/book/avg_rating_widget/12737118 It was a May book club pick for my book club.  It was a random pick off the shelf and turned out to be a really cute book and worth reading. Description from Goodreads: For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an … Continue reading Jane Austen LIterary Sighting! – Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon

It is a truth universally acknowledged…

that Pride and Prejudice is a much beloved story 200 years after it's publication.Publication history from WikipediaTitle page of a 1907 edition illustrated by C. E. BrockAusten began writing the novel after staying at Goodnestone Park in Kent with her brother Edward and his wife in 1796.[16] The novel was originally titled First Impressions by … Continue reading It is a truth universally acknowledged…